The Ultimate Fangirl Quilt

When a friend of mine bought her first home, I immediately began designing the ‘ultimate’ fangirl quilt for her (and her husband)!  It took a long time to work out the design, and I had to do a little covert detective work to confirm her top fandoms.  Then came the task of selecting the iconic image for each.  Some were easy (Hunger Games, Supernatural), and others I knew what had to be done, but wasn’t sure I would be able to make it look good (Divergent!). I’m embarrassed to say someone hand to suggest the Deathly Hallows symbol (I had been leaning towards a snitch but was unsure).  The Lord of the Rings was the most challenging to select, until a friend pointed out all of the other patches incorporated circles or curves, so I decided to take the plunge into hand embroidery for the Gates of Moria. Handiwork is not my strong suit, but I’m pretty happy with the results.

Final Quilt

From Left to Right: Divergent, Hunger Games, Veronica Mars, Lord of the Rings, Supernatural, and Harry Potter.

I used a combination of machine and hand quilting/applique, and the bottom right square is hand embroidery.  Icons are pale blue on navy blue background, with steel blue borders. The quilt is designed to be a wall hanging, and measures approximately 25″x32″.

~ by createdbyrah on February 17, 2015.

One Response to “The Ultimate Fangirl Quilt”

  1. That is so awesome!

Leave a Reply

 
