“Grandma’s Quilt Squares” Quilts

About 20 years ago my grandmother gifted me an unfinished quilt she had started but knew she would never finish. She was hand-sewing each square, so I had 13 finished blocks (12 inch squares), 2-3 partial blocks, matching fabric, and her templates (pictured below).

 

I treasured these squares, even more after she passed away, almost afraid to turn them into a project.  After years of keeping the squares carefully stored with my quilting supplies, I had a brainwave on how I could make use of my grandmother’s work: build quilted wall-hangings for my sisters and myself so we could all enjoy our grandmother’s work.

My sisters’ quilts comprise of squares entirely made by my grandmother, I added borders and quilted the quilts. Laura’s quilt, pictured left, is about 18 x 42 inches, Sam’s quilt, pictured right, is about 27 inches square.

 

For my quilt, I used two squares my grandmother made, and made two additional matching squares out of fabric she had included with the pattern. The boarder fabric is a print I found on eBay, from the same original Hoffman Celestial collection my grandmother bought in the 1990s–you really can find & buy anything on the internet! (finished quilt approx. 34 inches square)

4 quilt squares with matching stars/moons/suns prints

 

My grandma let us be creative in any way we wanted–including playing with her extensive make-up collection when we visited for the day (I’m the oldest).

I think she would have enjoyed the ultimate use of the quilt squares all these years later! (pictured below, me and my grandma)

Older woman and 1 year old child, both grinning & looking into the camera

~ by createdbyrah on July 23, 2018.

Leave a comment